Durban Heat Media Release

 No: dh1815

18 Nov 2018

Embargo : None

Written by: Nick Tatham

Durban Heat go down in nail biter at Kingsmead

Durban – The Durban Heat's opening game of the Mzansi Super League ended in defeat as the Cape Town Blitz won a final over thriller by three wickets at Kingsmead Cricket Stadium on Sunday.

The visiting Blitz won the toss and elected to bowl first with the opening partnership of Morné van Wyk and Hashim Amla taking first strike for the hosts. The pair managed to get the Heat to 31 in the sixth over before Anrich Nortje’s third over proved damaging.

The young quick picked up the crucial wickets of Van Wyk for 26, as well as SJ Erwee and Temba Bavuma for ducks. In his next over Nortje picked up the vital wicket of Amla for 15.

Captain Albie Morkel then joined Khaya Zondo at the wicket with the score on 48 for four and the pair consolidated well in the early stages of their partnership before taking advantage of the Blitz bowling right up to the 16th over.

Morkel scored a fluent 45 from just 25 deliveries and Zondo finished 49 not out off 42 balls as their partnership of 71 went a long way in resurrecting the Heat and getting them to a defendable total of 157.

Vernon Philander’s 16 not out also boosted the Heat to their final resting place.

The Heat needed to start well with the ball but both teams didn’t quite take the initiative and after the powerplay the Blitz were 40 for the loss of one wicket. The first wicket went to Marchant de Lange, who bowled Dawid Malan for 12.

Maharaj then accounted for Kyle Verreynne and Jannaman Malan in the same over so at the end of the ninth over the Blitz were 51 for three and the Heat found themselves slightly in front.

Pakistan star Asif Ali then took the game away from the Heat as he blasted 80 runs off just 33 balls and he and Ferisco Adams put on 60 runs for the sixth wicket. Their partnership took the Blitz to 143 in the 18th over.

Ali was caught by Erwee off the bowling of Kyle Abbott and then seven runs later Adams fell to De Lange, caught by Van Wyk.

With eight runs to get Malusi Siboto and George Linde managed to get their side over the line with five balls to spare; winning the game by three wickets.

Despite the result the Durban Heat will be encouraged by how they recovered with the bat after a poor start. Captain Albie Morkel is looking at the positives going into their second clash of the tournament against the Tshwane Spartans on Wednesday.

“We came back really nicely and I thought that we were actually ahead of the game when we went into the field,” Morkel said.

“We bowled really nicely in patches and (Asif) Ali was a bit of an unknown factor for us but he played well and took the game away from us in two overs.

“You could argue that maybe there was a tactical error and we bowled the spinner for one over too many but in Prenelan’s first three overs he was in control but it was Ali’s day and he kept hitting them out the park.”

The Heat now look forward to a clash with the Tshwane Spartans on Wednesday at Kingsmead - who lost their opening match of the tournament against the Blitz on Friday. Morkel is expecting another tough encounter.

“After their first loss they will come here with a lot of energy with AB de Villiers being their key.

“If we can look after him then I believe that we have the power to come out on top,” Morkel added.

Tickets can be purchased at and at Kingsmead Stadium.

More information can be found at

Durban Heat Fixtures:
21 Nov 14:00 Durban Heat v Tshwane Spartans Kingsmead, Durban
23 Nov 19:00 Nelson Mandela Giants v Durban Heat St George's, Port Elizabeth
28 Nov 19:00 Durban Heat v Paarl Rocks Kingsmead, Durban
30 Nov 19:00 Jozi Stars v Durban Heat Bidvest Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
02 Dec 11:00 Paarl Rocks v Durban Heat Eurolux Boland Park, Paarl
05 Dec 19:00 Durban Heat v Nelson Mandela Giants Kingsmead, Durban
07 Dec 14:00 Durban Heat v Jozi Stars Kingsmead, Durban
09 Dec 15:30 Cape Town Blitz v Durban Heat PPC Newlands, Cape Town
12 Dec 19:00 Tshwane Spartans v Durban Heat SuperSport Park, Centurion

Durban Heat Squad:
Hashim Amla, Rashid Khan, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen, Kyle Abbott, Keshav Maharaj, Khaya Zondo, Albie Morkel, Marchant de Lange, Vernon Philander, Brandon Mavuta, Temba Bavuma, Morné van Wyk, Okuhle Cele, Sarel Erwee, Tladi Bokako, Prenelan Subrayen.


Photo Caption Photographer Click to download the hi-res pic
The Durban Heat Logo - JPEG  

The Mzansi Super League Logo - JPEG  

Keshav Maharaj's 3 for 24 was one of thr stand out performances for the Durban Heat in their opening round three wicket loss to the Cape Town Blitz in the Mzansi Super League at Kingsmead on Sunday. Anesh Debiky/
Gallo Images

Conditions of usage of photographs: All photographs supplied and hyperlinked herewith may be used free of charge, with full credit to the photographer and agency as provided. The photographs may not be modified or retouched in any way, but may be cropped to suit the layout requirements of the publications. The photographs provided may be used exclusively for editorial purposes, and may be reprinted in any newspaper, magazine, television programme or on any website. These photographs may not be used for any commercial or promotional purpose, including but not limited to posters, advertisements, commercials, promotional email correspondence, point-of-sale material or any retail promotion. Should such usage be desired, please contact us at the details below.
Is this of no value to you?
This media release is intended for use by media professionals covering this specific activity or sport. Should this release not be relevant you, please advise us immediately and we will be glad to remove your name from this particular database. It would be useful to us if you could advise us which subjects you would like to continue receiving releases on.
For any further information, or if you cannot access the images, please contact:
Gameplan Media
(031) 764 3017